SlotForum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there,

I've gotten the scratch build bug after seeing all these wonderfull cars here and now I'm embarking on a new project.
I've just bought a Renault f1 car from the late 70's early 80's but I'm not sure what type it is. The RS10/RS11 or RS12.

http://www.google.nl/imgres?q=polistil+ren...tx=53&ty=66

Can anyone identify it?

I've never worked with an Polistill car before so I'm not sure if it will fit newer parts.
If anyone has got more experience on working on these kind of cars let me know, I can really use your advice.

Cheers,

Danny

·
Premium Member
1,130 Posts
Your Renault seems to be the RS01 in the Polistil "Champion 175" series, cat. no. A115. The website www.policar.info describes it as a 1979 car, though that may apply to when it was issued more than the 1:1 car year. The RS01 raced from 1977 to early 1979 and, as driver#8 says, its body shape changed. It ran with a variety of aerofoils, air intakes, engine covers, radiator bodywork, etc, so perhaps don't worry if the first photos you find show a different-looking car.
Can't help you on development. I have the Wolf in the same series but haven't done anything with it. They are attractive little cars, but the motor is a rather feeble old cube and, as usual on Polistils, the tyres are poor.
You may find something by using the SlotForum search box (up to the right), but don't be confused by what people have done on the earlier Polistil series with cars like the McLaren M23, Tyrrell 005/006 and Lotus 76. They are bigger cars with can motors and their rear wheel-axle unit can be easily replaced by a Scalextric unit and decent tyres are easily available.
Enjoy your project.
Rob J

·
Premium Member
1,359 Posts
Hi Danny,