Slot Cars Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
79 Posts
QUOTE (xelayb @ 15 Dec 2004, 11:41)Hi,
Anybody know where can I try the RMS Software ? It's very expensive, and it can to be bad.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

You also need a track piece for communicating with the RMS software. IMO, I would not be getting into RMS at this time. I believe Scalextric will drop this product soon, witht he introduction of Sport World.

RMS was not very robust or reliable. I purchased it and immediately wrote my own software for tracking laps.

[rb]
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
172 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Ok. I agree with you, and I've read about Sport World and I like it
, but I would like to get only software without hardware.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
90 Posts
I've got RMS (picked up on eBay for $12) and I only really use it for the track designer. I've used it for laptiming and it seems a little cumbersome and slow on my ancient laptop. No problems with missing laps or anything though.
 

·
Soren Winkler Rasmussen
Joined
·
355 Posts
Hi Randy
QUOTE (randybrown @ 15 Dec 2004, 19:19)RMS was not very robust or reliable. I purchased it and immediately wrote my own software for tracking laps.
I had similar problems with unreliable lap counting ... being of a bit curious nature
, I opened up the bottom side, and found that the small copper foil spring type contacts were badly bent, to a degree where they would only make contact, if the slot activator was fully pressed to the side.

I bent the copper foil gently with my fingers, so that even a small activation would make contact, and I've never had a lap timing problem since


Søren
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
79 Posts
QUOTE (SWoRd @ 15 Dec 2004, 15:53)I bent the copper foil gently with my fingers, so that even a small activation would make contact, and I've never had a lap timing problem since

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Hi Søren -

My issues were witht he software. On a 333 speed processor PC the software ended up slowing down to the point that the lane sounds would sound several seconds after passing the lap counter switch.


Also, after running several races, it would take much longer to have the system reset itself for the new race.

I've not used the RMS software for some time. Probably need to give it another go.

[rb]
 
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
Top