Slot Cars Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I AM JUST GETTING STARTED IN 1/32 RACING. I HAVE JUST PURCHASED A CARRERA STARTER SET AND AM PLANNING ON SOME NEW CARS. I WANT TO BUY SOME F1 CARS AND WONDER IF SCALEY OR CARRERA WOULD BE BETTER. THANKS

·
Registered
480 Posts
I love my Carreras, but must admit that the latest Scalex F1 models are really awesome! Don't be shy, buy them both.

·
Premium Member
5,393 Posts
Joey, welcome aboard.

If you are new to this lark then you should be aware that the track you run on is an important consideration in comparing makers cars and in taking the advice given here - which I think I can safely say will always be honest.

See, your Carrera track (excellent stuff, IMHO) has stainless steel rails that won't suck the magnets down as much as say, Sport track. That means if some dude tells you Scaley's go like thunder around the corners, you need to qualify the statement with which type of track he's using. It won't necessarily be the same for you with the German stuff.

New to the game, I'd be tempted to stick with the Carrera F1's initially, although I think I'm right in saying you have much more team choice with Scaley.

And, oh, yeah. Watch out for ALL CAPS POSTING!

·
Registered
146 Posts
You have a very good question.
But it really doesn't matter which F-1 cars you get, both Scalextric and Carrera are great.
If you'd like a Ferrari Carrera is the way to go until Scalextric releases theirs.

·
Premium Member
1,342 Posts
hi,
I have Carrera track...and whereas I like Carrera cars, I prefer the Scaley cars on my track. It may just be the style of "ride", personal preference. Carrera's in my experience are smoother (and quieter)...but the Scaley's seem quicker (not necessarily faster) and more responsive. They feel more like racing cars to me. Try both...see what you think, and then let us know, huh?

regards,
John

·
Allan Wakefield
5,857 Posts