SlotForum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just got mine delivered from GetSlotted.

First off, it looks great in the box, but I'm in this to use them so out it comes.

This car is a 4 Wheel Drive model and the dirt effect is pretty convincing.

The drive however... well, it's a dog.

I'm not sure if I'm spoilt, but the Carrera Bentley drives really smooth, is very responsive, is quick and holds the track well until it's pushed.

The Focus, is slow, not especially responsive (in fact it seems almost breathless) and comes off the track pretty easily.

Now as we all know I'm new to this, I mused that maybe a bit of lubricant here and there might help, but it would have to transform the car before it could touch the Bentley.

To top it all the lights only come on when the controller is fully depressed! Which is never

Are these characteristic of SCX cars I wonder?

·
Gary Skipp
6,476 Posts
It could be the ohms your controller is running. I don't really know what the Carrera controller ohmages are, but if they are 60 then they may be a bit high for the SCX car, I know an SCX F1 car won't run well with scaley sport controllers (60 ohm)

Check the connections from the braids to the motor, maybe slide the crown gear away from the spur a little to allow a smoother rotation. I would bother with lubricant, It did wonders for my spirit lola.

Check the wheels aren't rubbing the arches, and that the guide isn't causing de-slots.

Hope this will get it running well, it'd be a shame if you were stuck with a duffer.

·
Registered
2,457 Posts
Just a quick question, mainly because I haven't watched the latest round of the Focus-Benltly challenge
. Why would you want to race these two against each other? I'm not a "everything has to be 1/32 scale and you can't race old cars with magnets" kinda person, but they are two different types of car. One is low, long and wide, the other is high, short and narrow. The Focus will never compete with it.