SlotForum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
293 Posts
I'm new to this lark and fancy a couple of new cars to add to my fleet of ebay purchases.

Seen some very reasonably priced SCX NASCARs. Are they up to much or are they cheap for a reason and will they run OK on my classic Scalextric track?

Ta.

·
Registered
432 Posts
If you stick to running the SCX Nascars against each other they can be great fun, run one against a scalextric Nascar and you will notice the difference, depends on what motor the SCX cars have in them. I run mine with magnets in place (I have 2 young boys 3 and 6, without mags I would be spending a fortune repairing cars) and they run fine. I like how the SCX cars have the adjustable magnets underneath while the scalextric cars mags are fixed , a little adjustment and you can either increase or decrease your lap times or more mag for the kids and less for myself. For the price you can get these for I'd definately grab a few, I did.

Matt

·
Registered
77 Posts
Matt - Are you saying the scalextrics ones are faster opn a [plastic track with magnet in? I haven't run the scalextrics ones - is it just because they have more magnet lower in the car than SCX? I have tried standard SCX Nascars and they go well on wooden track - no magnet. I was always under the impression SCX generally had it over Scalextrics in this area... I can't comment on plastic with magnets in.

We run a class of stock SCX Pro Nascar at our group and I'd be surprised if the Scalextrics ones would be quicker than them (Wooden track no magnet). They probably have a bit too much power, I think it is 26,000 rpm... but they handle really well straight out of the box and the extra power we just treat as part of the character of Nascars. They are probably only less than 1 second off the stock NSR classic class we run (on a 25m wooden track)... if that puts it into perspective.

·
Registered
432 Posts
Hey Captain,