SlotForum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
At the moment I have a Carrera track from around 52ft, on a space from 8x8. I have around 26 normal right straights, and around 20 1/60 degrees curves. Have you any track plans? Now I have a lot of 180 degrees curves, and it is annoying. Thanks for all ideas!

·
Greg Gaub
16,847 Posts
I don't see any problems with that design, though you might find that a power jumper or two would be helpful.

If you want any advice, I would say don't buy any more 1/60 turns. If you buy any more track, invest in R2/3/4 turns so that you can have a more realistic and pleasant drive. Also, adding borders will help your racing, even with magnet traction cars, but especially if you start to play with gravity traction (non-mag) cars.

·
Registered
1,628 Posts
That’s not a bad concept, but the single R1’s out there on their own are going to be a bummer to drive. Once you get hold of some other radii curves you’ll be able to make something of that, for example, I think you could swap out that segmented arc on the top right for a continuous R2 section. When I get a bit of time I’ll try to show you how an extra pack of R2’s or R3’s could transform the drivability of that layout. The esses section is actually pretty good use of those R1/60’s and that part would be fun to drive.

·
Registered
514 Posts
I'm not an experienced track designer, but, for your space, I think I'd start by laying out the longest straight I could fit corner to corner, and then seeing about joining the ends up with technical curves and short straights in the rest of the space.

·
Registered
583 Posts