SlotForum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
800 Posts
I'm still new to 1/32nd scale racing although it might be difficult to believe with my post count. Since nobody here in the north eastern US does much slot racing in the summer I opted to take a shot at building a car. Actually two cars for Professor Fates 1960s F1 proxy race which is coming up soon.

I've no idea what an F1 car is but, what the heck, it can't be too hard. My first mistake was trying to build a car I know nothing about. The second mistake was trying to build a car to scale. The next mistake was not waiting for the bodies to come in BEFORE building the chassis. Wait, there are still more mistakes. Never mind
On the plus side, since I came from HO racing I am not frightened by the small size of a '60s F1 car. Yeah, they're small but compared to an HO car? Not hardly.

I've constructed two cars for this race using completely different chassis ideas I had. Both are incredibly simple but hugely different. Quite laughable designs by current standards. One car uses an Atlas motor which Professor Fate suggested early on in the thread. After years of using neo and cobalt motored HO cars, with armatures only a nutcase could love, this Atlas motor looked extremely wimpy. It only has one motor magnet and it's some molded grainy looking thing that probably isn't strong enough to be a refrigerator magnet. Apparently looks can be deceiving. I geared the thing around 4:1 like Professor Fate suggested and it's way too jumpy
Boy, am I glad I didn't use shunt wires, rewind the armature or use heavier gauge motor wires. I'm considering putting in a resistor or two to slow this thing down so it's more managable. I didn't have any axles bushings so I made up a mini jig to allow me to mount ball bearings on all four corners. Looking back now I can see that an F1 car doesn't have the space for bearings AND suspension detail so the detail was lost. I probably couldn't have done the suspension anyway but...