SlotForum banner
1 - 20 of 195 Posts

·
Registered
1,504 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well I've made a start on the new improved Southern Cross Motor Raceway!
The table measures 4.8m x 2m of 12mm MDF. This is my first time using a router!
Slots are 3mm x 7mm deep. Going with copper tape.
I don't know what the lane lengths are... but I reckon somewhere around 14-15m.
Back straight is 3.5m long, front straight 2.5m, bridge section 3.1m.
Surface will be Ferrodore Bridge Grey.

I made 2 mistakes with the routing, where the pin of the radius arm moved mid arc!!! Bugger!! I filled it with some putty, yet to repair it.

I haven't routed the bridge section yet, maybe this weekend... you can see the routing for the fences, they will be 3mm MDF 30 something mm high, enough for some signage.
Would like to have the lanes painted this weekend.
Here's some pics.

·
Brad Korando / Brad Korando
1,089 Posts
It's great to see that you have started in on the new track Dick. I think the prospect of the routed track is terrific! The track plan looks like it'll be fun to drive. I'll be watching intently on your progress.
Brad

·
Registered
1,504 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
QUOTE I'll be watching intently on your progress.
Brad
Thanks Brad, although this track won't have the same intended scenery as the last... I'm seeing a much simpler 'racing' track here...
I don't have the room for an elaborate pit set up, or grandstands etc, but I could sneak something in without overcrowding....

·
Registered
1,504 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Well after work this arvo I got to work on the bridge section, I cut the board to allow the incline at turn 1, and also the aproach to turn 2.
I moved onto routing the bridge itself, got 1 1/2 lanes done when the router bit had had enough.... it was burning the wood, not cutting it.
So that was that!
Off to Bunnings to get a new bit tomorrow.
I may still be able to have the lanes painted by next week, and then Ferrodore

·
Registered
242 Posts