Slot Cars Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok, newbie here.

Just ordered a Tomy afx super international, and came across an auction for some track pieces on ebay. I was wondering if anyone could give me some guidance as to wether or not they would be compatible. The auction bits are being sold by someone who doesn't know the difference and neither to I, but said that they say 'aurora tomy' on the back.
Can anyone verify or deny thatg these would be compatible with the new AFX track I'm getting? Or help me with some things to look at to verify?

Keep in mind I have neither the new or old peices available to inspect yet, till after the end of the auction at least.

thanks!

·
Registered
3,883 Posts
Hi, kbeefy and welcome to the asylum.

I have forgotten most of what little I used to know about HO but I haven't forgotten Gregory Braun and his EXCELLENT site.

Take a look HERE and you may find the answers to your questions. It's also worth dropping an Email to Gregory who is an EXCEPTIONALLY helpful chap.

You may also get direct answers from others here, particularly Fergy, who is often in and has a very experienced background in HO. HE also is an exceptionally helpful chap!
I am almost sure the pieces you mention are exactly the same, but better to hear this from people who really know.
I think you will find your answers quite quickly - hope so.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks for the info, I had found Gregorys' site allready and found it very informative... it's the reason I decided to get the Tomy afx.

At this point I'm kinda assuming that if it says tomy on itit must be compatible, the aurora specefic track was pre- tomy, right?

·
Jim Moyes
5,002 Posts
I'm no expert on HO but I did dabble with it before I got back into 1/32 and I'm fairly sure that not only are you right with the Tomy name meaning only one sort of track, but converters were made to join it to the old Aurora track as well.