SlotForum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, you may have already read the write-up on the Gaugemaster site, but I thought an independent report may be in order. Sorry about the lack of pictures, but you can see them on the Gaugemater site - I'm not very good with that side of things - I tend to cut heads off, you know what I mean.

This was to be my first experience of a Spirit model. I had seen them before on many websites and wondered but another car had always beaten the Spirit to my wallet. Straight out of the box, it ran somewhat noisily but after quite a short while it quietened down. It seems well constructed and is well detailed, the tampo printing is very good, well defined and considering it is a matt finish (which I have often found becomes a semi-gloss after handling the model for a while) the overall finish is excellent. It has the motor in a seperate 'mini-chassis' which you can change for different sizes of motors. The one that come with it is the standard size, but the larger frame would allow a Fly Racing motor. Also, there is one magnet already fitted which can be removed easily or alternatively you can add another so that there is a magnet each end of the motor. For the purpose of the testing, we left the car as it was supplied but it should also be noted that you can upgrade this model to a 'racing' model with the upgraded lightweight cockpit area and the lightweight chassis and wheels, all available as additional extras. The tyres are somewhat 'sticky' like the Fly Racing tyres, but certainly an improvement on the standard tyres on the normal Fly cars.

Up until now, the fastest cars that Connor (my 9 year old son) and I possess have been any of the Fly Vipers and a recent addition was one of the Fly Lola B98 with the racing motor. The Lola seemed the nearest candidate to race against and so the track was duly laid, and an evening of testing and racing was ahead of us.