SlotForum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I am relatively new to digital and the family was having a race. 3 cars were going and after my car deslotted and got put back on the track, nothing. No power. Tried to reset the ID, nothing. Tried the controller with another car and it worked. Tried the car with another controller, nothing. I have NO clue what to do or test next. Took the body off and there appear to be no loose or broken wires. It is a SSD Porsche Boxster that comes with the old lane challenge set.

Someone have any ideas? Is the chip fried?

Thanks!

·
Living the Life!
11,082 Posts
Have look at the components marked in this photo:
View attachment 10427
These MOSFETS are prone to blowing, the NO2 is prime suspect followed by PO3, or indeed both! These will need to be replaced if you can see any kind of surface disfigurement

Here's an obvious one:
View attachment 10428

·
Greg Gaub
15,345 Posts
If you can't see any damage, it might be a broken lead or wire. Even if you can't see a break, sometimes the legs on the "ferrite man" at the guide end will break, often inside the ferrite bead. Take things apart, and you might find that one of them just comes away completely. You'll need a soldering iron and some spare flexible wire (silicone lead wire) to repair, but it's likely that the car is otherwise fine.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·