SlotForum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Gentleman,
I have thinking about this design of Suzuka for a while now. I have small basement in a house in the Okanagan. We call it The Lair. The current layout is a take of Cataluyna but in reverse. The Catalunya layout is my first attempt with slots. I have been a long time modeler, train and r/c guy but I think I have found my place with slots.

First, Suzuka

I came up with this design by playing F1 2000 on the computer. Its an older game but I find it useful because its very animated in its look. Which is just the way I intend to build this layout. Simple and clean and at the same time trying to capture the essence of Suzuka.

Now the cuurent layout Cataluyna,

So what do you think?

Lorenzo

·
Registered
1,488 Posts
I must say the Catalunya layout looks excellent.
Good work Lorenzo.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks, it's fairly fast and very flowing to race on. Scaley around 8 seconds and slot it around 7.

With the Suzuka layout the above table will be torn down and a series of boxes with 3/4" MDF on top. Then either 1/4 or 3/8" MDF elevated from the base. The landscape will be built up using a technique used by one of the guys in our group uses to construct scale homes for clients

The white layer being put on top of the cardboard is Elmers foamboard. If you breakdown the foam portion of the board you can mould the board quite well over the cardboard using a hot glue gun. All the elvations will be done on cad and transfered by means of a template.
Over the foamboard goes Woodland Scenics landscaping sheets.

Get it?

·
Scott Brownlee
4,275 Posts
Oh, difficult. Your present track looks great fun to run on. I guess you can get bored with anything. The new one looks a challenge even to build let alone race on.

Pictures of how you get on, please!

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·