SlotForum banner
1 - 20 of 85 Posts

·
Registered
1,439 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Today saw the begining of the Pioneer test track for the Brooklands Slot Car Festival.
I will try and keep you updated, hopfully this will be a quick build. Now, where've I heard that before?

The first module is built.

Lanes are marked out.

The 3 main modules together.

More to follow..........

·
Registered
1,439 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
We managed to get some routing done today, in between the showers.

We also figured out a way to keep the boards level at the track surface.

We should getthe routing finished tomorrow and then the hard work starts!

·
Registered
175 Posts
When you rout a track like this do you do the lanes free hand? I have never done a routed track before but want to make a hill climb addition to my scaley digital track layout. I liked very much the way Graham Lane integrated the two types of track over in Italy but need to find out how routed tracks are done.

Thanks Carl

·
Registered
1,439 Posts
Yipee! The routing is finished!

Half of the track is painted with undercoat and the slots are sealed with PVA/water mix.

Copper tape will be going on tomorrow.

This is how we cut the bends. The jig is fixed at the centre point of the circle and just runs round to create the slot you need.

Some shots of the whole thing.

We're starting to panic now about finishing, we think it looks so good that once the copper is on we fear we won't stop "testing" it.

Hope your enjoying watching the progress and that lots of you will be at Brooklands to have a go.

·
Registered
287 Posts
I see you're using the "clip-on" Scalextric Sport track, I suppose it does save sore fingers when you are pulling the catches off on the old style!

·
Registered
1,439 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
QUOTE (col_de_turini @ 15 Jul 2010, 17:39) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Hello,