SlotForum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking to purchase a machine under the following scenario:

- My only interest is in 1:32 scalextric cars and making them run their best on a home set

- I'm a novice, but just love to tinker, along with my son, and want the best precision machine. I prefer to spend what it takes to be confident that I have the best rather than purchase multiple machines down the line to see if another machine is better.

- Dont need suggestions for home built options, I know they work but must satisfy my curiosity around a machine

- Area 3 seems best to me but seems unavailable (source ?)

- Seems to leave me with hudy or scale auto?

Which is best? Thanks.

·
Registered
270 Posts
Hi,

If by "scalextric" you're referring to the brand rather than generic 1:32 slot cars, neither Hudy nor Scaleauto will suit you as they only work on set-screw wheels, you need to find one that'll do the entire axle.

Tire-Razor is a popular choice in the US and there was a simple solution review on these pages recently but I can't remember the name.

·
One petunia in a field of onions
6,455 Posts
I recently gave in and purchased a Tire Razor. Would've liked to go for the Area 3 product seeing as it's made locally, for me. But I couldn't find the extra bucks to fund the difference. Happy with it for doing plastic wheels on the axle. Alloys I do via a Dremel and stand.

Poses (or is it Proses?) make a tyre cleaner/truer. Have a look at the forum sponsors list in the resources section and you should be able to find more about it. Mattcrackers won one thanks to the Xmas Competition. You might like to talk to him about it.

Embs

·
Premium Member
3,083 Posts
As you are running on plastic track with (presumably) magnets fitted it is debatable whether a proper tyre truer is worth the expenditure. The magnets will have a far greater effect than any truing and a quick sanding of the tyres would probably be sufficient.