SlotForum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the "slot car" obsession. I just finished an 8X16-4 track sport layout. I am looking for the best way to secure the track on the plywood without damaging the track. Any advice will be greatly appreciated.
Thank you for your help
Chris

·
DT
5,195 Posts
Hi Chris, welcome to the Forum.

Check out this thread and see how I started out.

I'm going to use a bit of silicone out of a tube to stick some sections that won't lay flat. You can pull the plastic off the plywood once dried later if you want.

·
Registered
1,170 Posts
Chris,

Welcome! I began by using caulk as well, but switched to hot glue around the mid-way point of being done. I'm talking the kind that comes out of a craft-type hot glue gun. I found it setup quick and was easy to manipulate.

Have fun!

·
Registered
3,883 Posts
Never having done it, I am interested in the hot glue method. I would imagine it to be more effective in pinning track down quickly and evenly. But if you do decide on a change later, how easy is it to peel off again?

·
Brian Ferguson
3,652 Posts
Some thoughts on:

Hot Glue: There are different types of hot glue sticks. Use the general purpose type (common craft sticks). Some other types can be very hard to remove (impossible from wood) and may etch into the edges of the plastic track. The general purpose variety will just peel away if you tear up all or part of track later, although it may still be impossible to remove from bare wood. Hot glue is a simple, and very fast method. Oh... and keep the gun tip away from the plastic - it is hot enough to melt it - don't ask how I know...