SlotForum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Slot Friends,

I'm new to HO racing, and wondering what is a good controller for my AFX track? I have the 4-Way Split set, with about 20' of extra track. I also have the stock power supplies. While I'm here can someone also tell me what I need to connect to the Ultimate Racer, race management system? Or other suggestions on RMS's. Thanks! Rob

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Boy, I feel kind of dumb with my most recent post. I made the same post about a year ago, and now I'm finally getting around to setting up my HO track.

I still need help with the RMS hook up though. Need to know how to connect an rms to my AFX, and what I need to make the connection.

Thanks!

·
Registered
550 Posts
Hi

I use Ultimate Racer here. Have you looked on the dedicated UR section on the other slot car forum?

I'm running ir detectors mounted in the track and an ir lightbridge all connected by parallel port to my laptop.

How many lanes are you running?

If it helps, I can try and put up some pics of my setup later.

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Hi Diesel,

Thanks for the reply. I'll check the other forum. But yea if the photos are not too much trouble that would be great. I know I'm unable to upload photos on this site since I haven't upgraded my membership. I have 4 lanes. I assume you're connecting through your usb port on the your laptop?

·
Registered
550 Posts
I actually have an old laptop with a parallel port. I think a lot of people with newer laptops get usb to parallel port adapters. Alternatively just try and pick up an old laptop. It doesn't have to be anything special.