SlotForum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Circuit Owner
5,889 Posts
I'm new to the 1:32 slot car scene. Until a couple of months ago my last Airfix car was airbrushed and assembled about 34 years ago (it was a Z28 Camaro or '69 Charger as far as I recall).

I have bought a few cars ranging from old Scalextric (C125 Porsche, C53 Datsun 260Z, Ford Taurus NASCAR), some modern SCX Nascars and AutoArt road cars through to exotics (Fly Panox LMP, Team Slot Saleen, Ninco 4WD Scooby) and a handful of other stuff.

I have also seen a few of the "thingies" that look like they were designed by 8 year olds but are obviously functional.

Looking at prices paid on a famous auction site there appears to be a school of thought that associates real life performance with the scale replica (although why people expect a Scalextric Aston LMP to perform well just because it's the same shape as a storming real life car is beyond me). I'm no aerodynamicist but as far as I know an aerofoil will not work below 50mph and in scale terms that means your Chapparal would have to be doing a speed of 1,600mph before the wing actually worked. (Cornering through 90 degrees in the scale equivalent of 3 car lengths at 1,600mph would of course reduce a live driver to a dead 4cm thick mess on the window on the outside of the turn so the whole realism debate gets shot to pieces right there).

The other school appreciates a car for its underpinnings believing that engineering is everything.

I love the racing classes - it means the field can be levelled and everybody can enjoy racing their favoured style of car.

BUT here's the question - if you HAD to choose one style of car, one engineering formula etc. - what would your weapon of choice be?

I'm asking because I'm looking for a project and it would be fun to try to build the consensus slot car.

So what would you choose if you were only allowed one racing car?

Saloon, coupe, 2 seater or single seater?
Hard top or open top?