SlotForum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey guys im fairly new to the scalextric world and was wondering what is the difference betwenn scalextric sport & sport digital??? i may seem a bit of a numpty asking this but just want to make a clear lol....

Thanks Luke

·
Prof I T
11,196 Posts
hi and welcome to the forum.

Scalextric sport is the name that covers the analouge range of products and scalextric digital does the same,though both names use the same track,to use digital though you need to introduce dedicated lane change sections.

Hope this helps...

·
Alfie Noakes
2,655 Posts
Hi Luke, this thread is a great place to start...

SSD 101

Scalextric stuff got a bit confusing a few years ago because they stuck the word 'Sport' on lots of their products that weren't necessarily compatible.

Scalextric Sport - Completely new Scalextric track system launched in 2002 with flat tabs & harder, less grippy plastic
Scalextric Sport Digital (SSD) - Scalextric version of Digital slot racing
Scalextric Sport World (SSW) - aborted venture into internet connected slot racing

Sport was also used on their range of upgraded limited edition cars which came in purple card boxes and are recognisable by the letter 'a' after the product identification number.

Cheers,
Richard

·
Registered
251 Posts
Hi Luke,

Welcome to the forum.

For me once I looked at Digital I just had to have it....................

Old "Analogue" = racing one car per lane of track

Digital = up to 6 cars using as many lanes as you like, lane changes at the press of a button, lap timer display, SSDC program that gives Fuel load simulation, cars that will run out of fuel, pitstops to re fuel, Murray walker race commentary, adjustable throttle maps, plus MUCH MUCH more.............

Digital is a real "big boys" toy

Read the "new to digital, start here" thread

Enjoy the hobby

Cheers Dave

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·