SlotForum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
One petunia in a field of onions
6,455 Posts
Most of them require an account be set up, even the free ones.

Photobucket, Flickr, ImageShack (not a fan of them due to pop-ups), PhotoTime, DropShots... The list is almost endless. All free, but all will require an account registration and setup process.

·
Horlicks Hero
1,940 Posts
I've been using Flickr for a few years. It has been very reliable, and they make it very easy to post pictures onto forums by giving you a code snippet that you just cut and paste into your post. The snippet even includes the necessary [ img ] tags.

However, their free account does have its limitations. The main ones are:
  • Maximum display resolution is 1024x768
  • Can only browse the last 200 pictures
If you upgrade to their Pro account (USD25 per annum) these limits disappear. So you can try the service for free, then start to pay for it when you find it useful.

As Ember already mentioned, you'll be hard pressed to find an image hosting site that doesn't require registration, and if you want all the bells and whistles for 'free', then you'll likely have to set up your own web site and add something like Gallery to it. Of course, this isn't 'free' since you have to pay for the web hosting and storage of all those images. Suddenly, Flickr Pro at a fraction over $2/month seems quite reasonable.

·
One petunia in a field of onions
6,455 Posts
Photobucket is the same with the tags for posting. It has recently lifted any restrictions it had regarding storage limitations etc.

Not advocating Photobucket. Just re-iterating that there is little to tell them all apart.

Embs

·
Registered
495 Posts
QUOTE (stoooo @ 3 Jan 2012, 10:37) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>..... if you want all the bells and whistles for 'free', then you'll likely have to set up your own web site and add something like Gallery to it. Of course, this isn't 'free' since you have to pay for the web hosting and storage of all those images.